- The Number: 75% on the Knowledge Exam
- Why a Passing Score Is Only Half the Pass
- What ETA Does Not Publish About Scoring
- Exam Snapshot: Format, Time, and Fees
- Protecting Your Score Across 16 Knowledge Categories
- Test-Day Rules That Affect Your Result
- If You Miss 75%: The Retake Window
- Scheduling Study Around the Score Target
- After You Pass: Validity and Maintenance
- FAQ
- The Fiber Optics Technician (FOT) knowledge exam from ETA International requires a 75% passing score.
- The exam has 75 questions and a 2-hour time limit.
- Passing the written exam is not enough; the required hands-on competency must also be satisfied.
- ETA does not publish an exact minimum number of correct answers or a scored/unscored item split.
The Number: 75% on the Knowledge Exam
The passing standard for the ETA Fiber Optics Technician (FOT) knowledge exam is 75%. That is the figure candidates should plan around, and it applies to the written/knowledge portion of the credential. It is a threshold, not a curve, and nothing in ETA's public material describes a sliding or adaptive standard for FOT.
Seventy-five percent is a meaningful bar for a technician-level credential. It leaves room for some misses, but it does not leave room for entire content areas to go unstudied. A candidate who is strong on connectors and splicing but has never looked at passive optical networks or restoration procedures is gambling with the margin. If you want a sense of how that bar feels in practice, our guide on how hard the FOT exam is walks through the difficulty profile in more detail.
Why a Passing Score Is Only Half the Pass
The most common misunderstanding about FOT scoring is treating the 75% as the whole requirement. For Fiber Optics Technician (FOT), the credential is built from two linked pieces:
- The proctored knowledge exam, scored against the 75% standard.
- The required hands-on competency, delivered through an ETA-approved school.
These are separate. Remote delivery of the written exam (for example through ExamRoom.AI, ETA's remote knowledge-exam option) does not replace the hands-on training and assessment. Likewise, a strong written score does not substitute for demonstrating practical skill. Both must be satisfied for the certification to be issued.
Eligibility sits upstream of all of this. ETA states that a current Fiber Optics Installer (FOI) certification and an ETA-approved hands-on training course are requirements for the FOT. Our FOT requirements guide explains the prerequisite chain and which conditions apply only to the optional Journeyman route rather than to stand-alone FOT.
Key Takeaway
Plan the hands-on training and the knowledge exam as one project. A 75% written score without the completed hands-on competency does not produce the credential, so do not schedule your timeline around the exam alone.
What ETA Does Not Publish About Scoring
Part of being exact about the passing score is being honest about what is not public. In the material available for Fiber Optics Technician (FOT), the following details are not stated:
- The minimum number of correct responses that equals 75%
- How many of the 75 questions are scored versus unscored
- The rounding rules applied to the final percentage
- A percentage weighting for each of the 16 knowledge categories
- A cohort pass rate
That last point is worth stressing. Marketing claims such as vendor guarantees or advertised accuracy of study documents are not pass-rate statistics, and they should not be read as evidence of how candidates actually perform. For a grounded discussion of what can and cannot be said, see our FOT pass rate analysis.
The practical consequence is simple: do not build a strategy around "I can skip the weakest 18 questions." You do not know how many items count, and you do not know which topic areas carry more weight. The safe strategy is broad competence.
Exam Snapshot: Format, Time, and Fees
Here is how the scoring standard fits into the rest of the exam mechanics, using only the facts ETA has made available.
| Item | Fiber Optics Technician (FOT) |
|---|---|
| Governing body | ETA International |
| Knowledge exam length | 75 questions |
| Knowledge exam time | 2 hours |
| Passing score | 75% on the knowledge exam, plus the required hands-on competency |
| Delivery | Proctored; online (Trapeza) or paper/pencil at approved locations; ExamRoom.AI for remote |
| Examination fee | US$155 |
| Remote proctoring charge | $16 for the two-hour ExamRoom.AI session, where that route is arranged (effective October 1, 2025) |
| Prerequisites | Current FOI certification and an ETA-approved hands-on training course |
Two cautions. First, ETA's public pages do not specify the precise item type for the FOT knowledge exam, so avoid assuming a particular question style from third-party descriptions. Second, approved training, travel, and any provider bundles are separate costs whose amounts vary; the $155 covers the examination fee only. Our FOT certification cost breakdown lays out how the pieces add up.
Pacing is straightforward on paper: 75 questions in 2 hours leaves just under two minutes per question on average. That is comfortable for recall items but tighter if some questions involve calculation, such as loss budgets, so practice timed sets. The main FOT practice test site is a good place to rehearse that rhythm.
Protecting Your Score Across 16 Knowledge Categories
ETA's Certified Fiber Optics Technician (FOT) Competency Requirements document (copyright 2021, 10 pages) lists 16 Major Knowledge Categories. These are official competency objectives, not a percentage-weighted blueprint. There is no verified "highest-weight" category, and you should not convert the number of topics under a heading into an assumed exam percentage.
That makes coverage the central scoring strategy. The categories are:
- Principles of Fiber Optic Transmission
- Basic Principles of Light
- Optical Fiber Construction and Theory
- Optical Fiber Characteristics
- Safety
- Fiber Optic Cables
- Types of Splicing
- Connectors
- Sources
- Detectors and Receivers
- Passive Components and Multiplexers
- Passive Optical Networks (PON)
- Cable Installation and Hardware
- Fiber Optic System Considerations
- Test Equipment and Link/Cable Testing
- Troubleshooting and Restoration (Tier 1 and 2 Testing)
For a category-by-category walkthrough, read our complete guide to all 16 FOT content areas. Below are the clusters where candidates most often need to deliberately build depth.
Theory Block: Transmission, Light, Construction, and Characteristics
The first four categories form the conceptual foundation that later questions assume you already have.
- How light behaves in fiber and what sets one fiber type apart from another
- How fiber is built, and which characteristics (such as attenuation and dispersion) limit a link
- Why these characteristics drive the choices in cabling, sources, and testing
Termination Block: Splicing and Connectors
These categories are the heart of a technician's day-to-day work and a natural strength for hands-on candidates.
- The types of splicing and the trade-offs between them
- Connector types and what affects their loss and reliability
- Where workmanship shows up in later test results
Network Block: Sources, Detectors, Passive Components, and PON
Hands-on installers often underestimate these because they touch the electronics and architecture side.
- How sources and detectors/receivers fit into a link
- Passive components and multiplexers, and what they do to optical power
- Passive optical network concepts, a category that rewards deliberate study
Verification Block: System Considerations, Testing, and Troubleshooting
The final categories tie everything together and reward candidates who can reason through a failing link.
- Test equipment and link/cable testing methods
- Troubleshooting and restoration, including the Tier 1 and 2 testing qualifier in category 16
- Interpreting results rather than just collecting them
Safety deserves its own mention. It is one of the 16 categories and one of the easiest places to protect points, because the material is concrete and finite. Do not leave it for last.
Test-Day Rules That Affect Your Result
Your score can be derailed by administrative problems that have nothing to do with fiber knowledge. ETA's general onsite rules include the following:
- Photo ID is required.
- Personal electronic devices are prohibited.
- Scratch paper is permitted, and used scratch paper must be surrendered at the end.
- Non-programmable or scientific calculators are permitted.
If you take the exam remotely, confirm the specific rules for your chosen arrangement ahead of time; remote requirements should be verified rather than assumed. No FOT-specific open-book or adaptive status has been verified, so prepare as though recall and calculation must come from your own head. If you need special accommodations, those are arranged individually with ETA, so start that conversation early rather than the week of your exam. For scheduling details, see our FOT exam dates and scheduling guide.
If You Miss 75%: The Retake Window
Under ETA's terms, one free retake is available within one year of the initial session. That is a genuine safety net, but read it carefully. It does not guarantee that associated tuition or remote proctoring charges are free for the repeat attempt, so budget for those possibilities.
If your first result falls short of 75%, treat it as diagnostic. Review which categories felt shakiest, rebuild those first, and use the one-year window deliberately rather than rushing back in. Whether the credential justifies that effort for your career is a fair question, and our analysis of whether the FOT certification is worth it and the FOT salary guide can help you weigh it.
Scheduling Study Around the Score Target
Because the exam rewards breadth, sequence your preparation so theory lands before the topics that depend on it, and leave time at the end to mix everything together. One workable arrangement for a candidate who already holds FOI and is completing approved hands-on training:
Light and Fiber Theory
- Transmission principles, light behavior, fiber construction, and characteristics
- Safety, since it is concrete and easy to lock in early
Hardware and Termination
- Cables, splicing types, and connectors
- Cable installation and hardware
Electronics and Network Architecture
- Sources, detectors and receivers, passive components and multiplexers
- Passive optical networks and system considerations
Testing, Troubleshooting, and Timed Practice
- Test equipment, link/cable testing, and restoration with Tier 1 and 2 testing
- Full-length timed sets aiming comfortably above 75%
Our FOT study guide expands this approach, and the FOT cheat sheet is useful for last-day review. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, use the FOT practice tests and track your category-level results, not just your overall percentage.
After You Pass: Validity and Maintenance
Once you clear the knowledge exam and satisfy the hands-on competency, the credential carries a four-year term. Under ETA's Maintenance with Hands-On route, you need 6 relevant continuing-education hours per year, which is 24 over the four years, along with employer verification and the maintenance form. The fee is $25 per year, or $100 for the four-year period. ETA recommends annual submissions but allows the requirements to be fulfilled across the maintenance cycle, and documented on-the-job training is subject to ETA evaluation. Employer verification supplements the hours; it does not replace them.
If you are weighing where the credential can take you, see our overview of FOT jobs and the training pathways in our FOT training guide.
FAQ
The knowledge exam requires 75%. The required hands-on competency, delivered through an ETA-approved school, must also be satisfied for the certification to be issued.
ETA does not state an exact minimum number of correct responses. The exam has 75 questions, but the scored/unscored allocation and rounding rules are not published, so aim comfortably above 75% rather than counting an exact cutoff.
No. Remote or onsite knowledge testing does not replace the required hands-on training and assessment through an ETA-approved school. Both components must be completed.
ETA's terms allow one free retake within one year of the initial session. Repeat tuition and any remote proctoring charges are not automatically covered, so confirm costs before rescheduling.
ETA publishes the 16 categories as competency objectives, not as a percentage-weighted blueprint, and no highest-weight category has been verified. Study all of them rather than guessing which will count most.