- Identity Check: Which FOT This Sheet Covers
- The Exam at a Glance
- Fees, Retakes and Test-Day Rules
- Who Can Sit for It
- The 16 Competency Categories, Condensed
- Fiber Concepts Worth Memorizing
- Which Categories to Study When
- Four-Year Validity and Maintenance
- Where the Credential Gets Used
- Quick Answers (FAQ)
- This is ETA International's Fiber Optics Technician (FOT), not the Fiber Optic Association's separately administered CFOT.
- The knowledge exam has 75 questions, a 2-hour limit and a 75% passing score, plus required hands-on competency.
- The exam fee is US$155, and one free retake is available within one year of the initial session.
- A current Fiber Optics Installer (FOI) certification and an ETA-approved hands-on course are stated prerequisites.
Identity Check: Which FOT This Sheet Covers
"FOT" is shorthand that several credentials in the telecom and fiber world have used, so start by confirming you are preparing for the right one. This cheat sheet covers the Fiber Optics Technician (FOT) certification governed by ETA International. The scope document is titled Certified Fiber Optics Technician (FOT) Competency Requirements. It is not the Fiber Optic Association's CFOT, which is a separate program with its own administration. Do not mix study materials, fee schedules or renewal rules between the two.
If you want background on the name itself, see What Is FOT? and What Does FOT Stand For?. For the broader picture of the credential, FOT Certification is the hub page. When you are ready to test your recall under pressure, the FOT practice test mirrors the knowledge-exam experience.
The Exam at a Glance
Print this table and tape it above your desk. Every figure here comes from the issuer's published material.
| Item | Fact |
|---|---|
| Governing body | ETA International |
| Testing provider | ETA Certification Administrators |
| Knowledge exam length | 75 questions |
| Time limit | 2 hours |
| Passing score | 75% on the knowledge exam, plus the required hands-on competency |
| Delivery | Proctored; online (Trapeza) or paper/pencil at approved locations; ExamRoom.AI as the remote knowledge option |
| Hands-on component | Required skills training/assessment through an ETA-approved school (separate from the written exam) |
| Competency document | Copyright 2021, 10 pages, 16 Major Knowledge Categories |
| Validity | Four years |
What the numbers do and do not tell you
Seventy-five questions in two hours works out to roughly 96 seconds per question if you used the full time, which is comfortable for most candidates who have studied. The pressure on this credential comes from breadth, not speed. The issuer does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, and it does not publish an exact minimum number of correct answers, so avoid any study plan that hinges on a "magic number" of right responses. Aim for command of the material instead.
The public issuer pages also do not specify the precise question type for FOT. Treat any third-party claim about the item format as unofficial. Your best preparation is to know the competency objectives cold and practice answering across all of them. For a candid take on difficulty, read How Hard Is the FOT Exam?, and for the scoring mechanics see FOT Passing Score.
Fees, Retakes and Test-Day Rules
Cost line items
- Examination fee: US$155. The current issuer page shows no member/non-member price difference for FOT.
- ExamRoom.AI proctoring: a two-hour remote proctoring charge of $16 applies where that route is arranged, effective October 1, 2025.
- Approved training: required, but the exact tuition varies by school and was not verified. Training providers may bundle the exam fee, so compare carefully.
- Travel: relevant if your approved school or test site is not local.
The full budgeting picture, including what to ask a training provider before you pay, is in FOT Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Retake rule
ETA's terms allow one free retake within one year of the initial session. "Free" refers to the exam retake under those terms. Do not assume repeat tuition or remote proctoring charges are waived; confirm with your school and testing arrangement before you rely on that.
Onsite exam-day rules
- Bring photo ID.
- Personal electronic devices are prohibited.
- Scratch paper and non-programmable/scientific calculators are permitted.
- Used scratch paper must be surrendered at the end.
Remote rules can differ, so confirm the specifics for the arrangement you choose. No FOT-specific open-book or adaptive status was verified, so do not plan around either. Candidates who need special accommodations must arrange them individually through ETA ahead of time. For scheduling logistics, see FOT Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Who Can Sit for It
The stated requirements are a current Fiber Optics Installer (FOI) certification and an ETA-approved hands-on training course. That is the core eligibility rule. No separate universal degree or references requirement was verified.
FOT can be held as a stand-alone credential or used as part of ETA's Journeyman route. The optional Journeyman upgrade adds its own conditions: Associate CET status, at least two years of combined training and experience, and a published $55 upgrade fee. Those are Journeyman upgrade conditions, not eligibility rules for stand-alone FOT, so do not let a forum post convince you otherwise. The full qualification path is laid out in FOT Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and the training side is covered at FOT Training.
The 16 Competency Categories, Condensed
ETA publishes 16 Major Knowledge Categories as official competency objectives. They are not a percentage-weighted blueprint, so no category is verified as the "heaviest." Do not convert topic count into exam percentages. Plan to be competent in all sixteen. Here is the sheet, grouped for easier review. A deeper walk-through lives in FOT Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 16 Content Areas.
Light and fiber fundamentals (Domains 1-4)
1. Principles of Fiber Optic Transmission
Why light carried through glass beats copper for many links, and the building blocks of a fiber system.
- Transmitter, fiber and receiver roles
- Where fiber fits against other media
2. Basic Principles of Light
The physics the rest of the exam leans on.
- Wavelength and the electromagnetic spectrum
- Reflection and refraction
- Index of refraction and total internal reflection
3. Optical Fiber Construction and Theory
How a fiber is built and how it guides light.
- Core, cladding and coating layers
- Single-mode versus multimode construction
- Step-index versus graded-index concepts
4. Optical Fiber Characteristics
What degrades or limits a signal in the glass.
- Attenuation and its causes
- Dispersion and bandwidth
- Numerical aperture and acceptance angle
Safety and cabling (Domains 5-6)
5. Safety
Hands-on safety is non-negotiable in this trade.
- Eye protection and laser/light-source hazards
- Safe handling and disposal of glass fiber shards
- Chemical handling for cleaning and adhesives
6. Fiber Optic Cables
Cable types and the environments they serve.
- Indoor, outdoor and indoor/outdoor constructions
- Strength members, jackets and buffer designs
- Choosing cable for the installation environment
Termination and connection (Domains 7-8)
7. Types of Splicing
Permanent and semi-permanent joins and what separates a good splice from a bad one.
- Fusion versus mechanical splicing
- Splice loss and the factors that affect it
- Splice protection and closure practices
8. Connectors
The most frequent source of field problems.
- Common connector styles and ferrule types
- Polish types and end-face quality
- Cleaning and inspection discipline
Active and passive components (Domains 9-12)
9. Sources
How light gets into the fiber.
- LEDs versus laser sources and where each is used
- Wavelength and output-power considerations
10. Detectors and Receivers
How light becomes an electrical signal again.
- Photodiode types
- Receiver sensitivity and dynamic range
11. Passive Components and Multiplexers
Components that shape or combine light without power.
- Couplers and splitters
- Wavelength-division multiplexing concepts
- Attenuators and related passive devices
12. Passive Optical Networks (PON)
The architecture behind many fiber-to-the-premises builds.
- Point-to-multipoint topology using splitters
- Central office, distribution and subscriber-side roles
- Why splitter loss shapes the link budget
Installation, systems and testing (Domains 13-16)
13. Cable Installation and Hardware
Getting cable into place without damaging it.
- Pulling tension and bend-radius limits
- Enclosures, panels and cable management hardware
14. Fiber Optic System Considerations
Putting components together into a working, documented link.
- Link loss budgeting
- Matching components and wavelengths
15. Test Equipment and Link/Cable Testing
How you prove a link meets its requirements.
- Optical power meter and light source testing
- OTDR use and trace interpretation
- Documenting results
16. Troubleshooting and Restoration (Tier 1 and 2 Testing)
Diagnosing faults and restoring service, including the Tier 1 and Tier 2 testing qualifier in the issuer's category title.
- Isolating faults along a link
- Restoration approaches after cable damage
- Knowing which test tier answers which question
Fiber Concepts Worth Memorizing
The issuer does not publish a list of formulas or constants for the exam, so use judgment about what to commit to memory. These are the relationships that recur throughout the competency categories and that fiber technicians use daily:
- Total internal reflection requires light to travel from higher to lower refractive index and strike the boundary beyond the critical angle. This single idea underpins how every fiber works.
- Single-mode versus multimode: know the construction differences (core size relative to wavelength) and the typical use case for each, particularly distance and bandwidth.
- Loss accumulates: a link's total loss is the sum of fiber attenuation, connector loss, splice loss and passive device loss. The link loss budget in Domain 14 is just this addition performed in advance.
- Decibels are logarithmic: be comfortable converting between dB and relative power, and remember that adding dB values corresponds to multiplying power ratios.
- Bend radius and tension limits protect both the glass and long-term performance; installation questions often hinge on respecting them.
- Cleanliness first: contaminated connector end-faces explain a large share of real-world loss and reflectance problems, so expect inspection and cleaning to matter.
Key Takeaway
Treat Domains 2 through 4 as your foundation. If you understand how light behaves and why a signal weakens, the later domains on splicing, connectors, testing and troubleshooting stop being memorization and start being logic.
Which Categories to Study When
Generic study advice is easy to find; this is a sequencing suggestion tied to how the sixteen categories build on each other. Adjust the pacing to your own calendar and your training school's schedule. A fuller plan is in the FOT Study Guide.
Physics and fiber basics
- Domains 1-4: transmission principles, light, construction, characteristics
- Learn attenuation and dispersion well; later testing questions assume them
Safety, cable and terminations
- Domains 5-8: safety, cables, splicing, connectors
- Pair reading with your hands-on course practice
Components and networks
- Domains 9-12: sources, detectors, passive components, PON
- Practice a splitter-loss calculation for a PON link
Installation, systems and diagnostics
- Domains 13-16: installation, system considerations, testing, troubleshooting
- Finish with mixed practice across all sixteen categories
Troubleshooting (Domain 16) sits last on purpose: it draws on nearly everything before it. Use the FOT Exam Prep practice questions in the final stretch to find the categories where your recall slips.
Four-Year Validity and Maintenance
FOT is valid for four years. Under ETA's Maintenance with Hands-On route, you need:
- 6 relevant continuing-education hours per year, totaling 24 over four years
- Employer verification and the maintenance form
- A fee of $25 per year, or $100 for the four-year period
ETA recommends annual submissions and allows the requirements to be fulfilled across the maintenance cycle. Documented on-the-job training is subject to ETA evaluation. Two cautions: do not substitute the generic non-hands-on 10-hour annual route, and do not treat employer verification as an alternative to the hours. It accompanies the hours; it does not replace them.
Where the Credential Gets Used
Fiber technicians are needed wherever light-based links are built and maintained: telecom carriers and their contractors, cable and broadband operators, fiber-to-the-premises builders, data center and enterprise cabling firms, and utilities and campus network teams. The competency categories map directly to that work, with splicing, connector termination, OTDR and power-meter testing, PON construction and fault restoration all appearing in day-to-day job duties. Because FOT builds on a current FOI and requires approved hands-on training, employers often read it as evidence that you can do the physical work, not just describe it.
For what to expect in the job market, see FOT Jobs. If you are weighing the investment, Is the FOT Certification Worth It? and the FOT Salary Guide cover the return side, and FOT Pass Rate: What the Data Shows explains why vendor guarantees and advertised study-material accuracy should not be mistaken for official cohort pass statistics.
Quick Answers (FAQ)
The knowledge exam has 75 questions with a 2-hour time limit. The issuer does not disclose how many are scored versus unscored, and a commercial question bank's size says nothing about the real exam's length.
The knowledge exam requires 75%, and the required hands-on competency must also be satisfied. An exact minimum number of correct answers is not published because scored-item allocation and rounding rules are not stated.
The examination fee is US$155, with no member/non-member difference shown for FOT. Approved training, travel and any bundle are separate, and a $16 two-hour ExamRoom.AI proctoring charge applies where the remote route is arranged.
Yes. A current Fiber Optics Installer (FOI) certification and an ETA-approved hands-on training course are stated requirements. The Associate CET and two-year experience conditions apply only to the optional Journeyman upgrade, not stand-alone FOT.
ETA's terms provide one free retake within one year of the initial session. Repeat tuition and remote proctoring charges are not guaranteed to be free, so confirm those details with your school and testing arrangement.
No official percentage allocation has been published, so no category can be called the highest-weight. The 16 Major Knowledge Categories are competency objectives, and you should prepare across all of them rather than guessing at emphasis.
Keep this sheet handy, work through the sixteen categories in order, and confirm every logistical detail with ETA International before you book. When you want a realistic check on your recall, the FOT Exam Prep practice tests are the quickest way to find your weak spots.